The Test

For our review of the GTX 1060, we’re using NVIDIA’s 368.81 driver. Our 2016 benchmark suite is otherwise identical to how it was described in our GTX 1080 review.

Meanwhile I’ve gone ahead and included a spectrum of cards, not only contemporary competitors like the Radeon RX 480 8GB, but also historical cards such as the GTX 760 and GTX 660, to give us an idea of how performance has improved in this segment over the generations.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4960X @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty X79 Professional
Power Supply: Corsair AX1200i
Hard Disk: Samsung SSD 840 EVO (750GB)
Memory: G.Skill RipjawZ DDR3-1866 4 x 8GB (9-10-9-26)
Case: NZXT Phantom 630 Windowed Edition
Monitor: Asus PQ321
Video Cards: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Founders Edition
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 Founders Edition
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1060 OC
AMD Radeon RX 480
AMD Radeon R9 390
AMD RAdeon R9 380X
AMD Radeon R9 290
AMD Radeon HD 7970
Video Drivers: NVIDIA Release 368.81
AMD Radeon Software Crimson 16.7.2 (RX 480)
AMD Radeon Software Crimson 16.7.1 (All Else)
OS: Windows 10 Pro
Meet the ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1060 OC Rise of the Tomb Raider
POST A COMMENT

184 Comments

View All Comments

  • osxandwindows - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Finally!.
    A timely review from anandtech.
    Reply
  • osxandwindows - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Now, where is the HTC10 review, the new titan, and the note 7? Reply
  • Ryan Smith - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    HTC 10: In progress (Josh is nearly done)
    Titan X Pascal: We weren't sampled
    Note7: No comment
    Reply
  • ddriver - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    "Titan X Pascal: We weren't sampled"

    What do you expect? They send units to be reviewed for publicity, which requires the unit be reviewed immediately after it is received, and the review published the moment NDA expires. But if it takes you months after the official release to review stuff - why bother sending you samples? Keep on sloth gear and you might end up having to purchase all the hardware you want to review...
    Reply
  • ddriver - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    And please don't go with the "but we go in depth" stuff - there is nothing preventing you from publishing detailed stuff later on. Because otherwise you are implying some absurdity like "we're too good for timely reviews" which is plain out silly. Reply
  • zepi - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    I'm happy to read average results from techpowerup, guru3d on whatever random site I happen to find my way to.

    I come to Anandtech to find out WHY the cards perform the way they do, not to answer the question of HOW they perform.
    Reply
  • ddriver - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Sure, because it is all about you happiness... Reply
  • mmrezaie - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Well mine too. I do not care about others shallow reviews. I like how Anandtech goes deep about these reviews. Maybe it is a niche portion of visitors, but AT is being famous because of these reviews. Reply
  • Fnnoobee - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Deep in reviews? They're not even doing they're test on the latest AMD Crimson drivers, 16.7.3, or even 16.7.2, which released almost a month ago. Yeah, real deep testing there. /s Reply
  • mkaibear - Friday, August 05, 2016 - link

    Ah, the irony of ddriver complaining that anandtech doesn't make him happy, then telling zepi off for pointing out anandtech makes him happy... Reply

Log in

Don't have an account? Sign up now