OC: Gaming Performance

We’ll keep the running commentary short here, but depending on how shader bottlenecked any individual game is, it’s possible for GTX 670 to beat a stock GTX 680 with just an increase of the power target. Without that pesky 8th SMX drawing power this leaves more power for increasing clockspeeds, which helps games that are more bottlenecked by the ROPs and/or GPCs.

Conversely, if a game is extremely shader bound (such as Portal 2), then only a full overclock can make up for that 8th SMX on GTX 680.

OC: Power, Temperature, & Noise Final Words
POST A COMMENT

414 Comments

View All Comments

  • Gastec - Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - link

    Insanity! Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    When amd has trouble with a game, the reviewer, completely unaware of any amd deficiency (as any good fanboy), has no explanation at the ready, nothing he has been watching for as an identified weakness - unlike the nVidia cards, where the reviewer is on constant watch for what he believes are nVidia card weaknesses.
    " Skyrim is a game that for inexplicable reasons AMD just has some trouble with that NVIDIA doesn’t, possibly driver overhead."

    Yes, we know, if amd doesn't do well, it's inexplicable. Something just has to be wrong. Somehow reality has warped.
    Then after noting the 670 win fairly, we get this:

    " At 1920 we’re clearly CPU limited even with all of Skyrim’s graphical features turned up. "

    Instead of saying the 570 beats every amd card at that resolution, or even noting every amd card is stacked at the bottom, period, it's a "cpu problem" - amd didn't fail, the cpu did...

    That's not all - after seeing the 570 spank every amd card at the 1920 resolution the reviewer goes on attack, since he mentioned of course earlier in the article nVidia brought up the 570, meaning it would be part of their line up he said, so attacking it is a must, as any good fanboy knows. Never mention is has spanked the 7870 and 7850 and even the 7970 once (civ5) and never mention it spanks the whole amd tier in this game with texture packs and it's "puny memory" at 1920, but go after it...

    " GTX 670 is greatly improving on the GTX 570 due to the latter’s lack of memory. 1.25GB is cutting it close here with the high resolution texture pack "

    There you have it. Once again. The GTX570 spanks every amd card at 1920 but all it gets is a big fat cut down for 2560.

    Oh yes, the whole way it's done is consistently against nVidia.
    Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    Here again, an nVidia win is inexplicable. Instead we hear about the amd "strength".
    When nVidia wins, remember it's unclear why because it should not be happening, amd has a superior strength !

    " At this point it’s not entirely clear why the GTX 600 series does so well here (both AMD and NV use SGSSAA), especially given the fact that the Radeons have a memory bandwidth advantage."

    Now we can listen to the "on paper" amd fanboys, and the endless fantasy that future drivers and future games mean amd is the "future winner" for the newest cards tested and compared.

    Never will we hear the amd core "technology" is weaker and has some severe caveats when it comes to game engines and implementation.

    Instead, that with much superior "paper horsepower" on "notional multiplications" based upon less than fully accurate simplified calculations omitting severe bottlenecks in amd architecture and adding in guesses for the "tricks" amd has to "overcome" them, we will always be told the above, instead of the truth.
    AMD core design is inferior for most of the game engines.
    Reply
  • snakefist - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    " At this point it’s not entirely clear why the GTX 600 series does so well here (both AMD and NV use SGSSAA), especially given the fact that the Radeons have a memory bandwidth advantage."

    oh, dear god - as much as i try to ignore you...

    do you, or do you not remember NVIDIA cards with 192/384/512 memory bandwidth and how much good this "advantage" brought to them? compared to AMD 128/256 bandwidth of the same generation?

    when commenting your post, one is necessarily becoming an AMD fan, since basically everything you say is so biased and (mainly) incorrect or misinterpretation of actual facts

    i suspect you secretly work for AMD :)
    Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    Are you aware the post you copied is the reviewers words, smarty pants ?
    Do you realize I was criticizing the reviewers words, his "bandwidth" notional advantage for amd ?
    Do you realize you just called the reviewer and idiot and agreed with me ?

    YOUR words > " do you, or do you not remember NVIDIA cards with 192/384/512 memory bandwidth and how much good this "advantage" brought to them? compared to AMD 128/256 bandwidth of the same generation?"

    Now tell it to the reviewer dumb dumb, since you copied and pasted HIS WORDS from my post, his words, words for word from the review !

    ROFLMAO - yes you maybe should become a paid operative for amd, you have the intelligence for it - get everything wrong then attack - you're perfect for them :)
    Reply
  • snakefist - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    nope. i do not realize that. i don't memorize each word of review to be able to write 2/3 comments of 22-pages thread...

    and i didn't call anyone "an idiot".

    what i said is what i believe (furthermore, it could be backed up by numerous reviews from that time - all of them also written by reviewers, perhaps on your surprise). whether this reviewer agrees with me or not on this topic is a simple matter of opinions, and review itself doesn't burst with hate as all your posts do.
    Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    Who knows what you said, it isn't clear, because you didn't make it clear.
    Believe whatever it is you believe,as that is also unclear, and only your opinion, since no facts are present for you, according to you.

    Of course you only see hate from me, since I point out the amd flaws, and amd is your fanboy fave, as your other posts clearly show, and no you don't sense hate from the reviewer as he coddles amd, as I pointed out, and that gives you a nice warm feeling of "good opinion" vibrations.
    ROFL

    It's all too clear.
    Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    PS- you called me a lot worse than an idiot, so don't cop out on your hate filled spewing. Of course who expects anything less from an amd fanboy.

    Let's go with this, so you don't forget, or try to claim white snowy innocence - I certainly hope a bunch of obvious amd fanboys ignore every fact and facet I've presented, and dive, "driven" as you noted, right (back) into their beloved failure, with someone like you doing that, I couldn't receive any greater and lovely reward for my efforts here.
    Reply
  • snakefist - Friday, May 11, 2012 - link

    i did question your sanity, which i found more than ever a reasonable question. i'm surely not only one who shares this doubt. as for anger-management - i don't find this insulting, you should rather stop living in denial that you have one

    i did not called reviewer "an idiot", which you implied.

    i was not aware that you are making efforts of any kind, except to comment every sensible post of any author with your irrelevant raging about something else... now that you explained it so well, i'll probably stay off your noble crusade of enlightening people with wildly subjective and/or incorrect claims... at least as long i feel like it

    facts behind my claims are clearly stated and usually well-known and proven. your last two posts doesn't have single fact, btw

    now reap the benefits of your great reward, whatever you might think it is
    Reply
  • CeriseCogburn - Saturday, May 12, 2012 - link

    Oh stop being a liar, you got outed so now you can't stand yourself.
    Let's go with near page one where one of your fellow amd fans haphazardly claims the 365mm die of the amd card is so close to the 300mm die of the nVidia card that amd price dropping again is no problem.

    Another amd snake applauded the post for the sanity it contained. ( merely because amd fanboyism was served well, of course)

    I had to point out, with considerable effort and for the greater good ...

    (let's face it amd fans should be ponying up profit dollars for the hurting amd, not demanding low prices be lowered again - it's called putting your money where your mouth is, and where your heart is in this case, something the amd zealouts apparently have, to only their personal and selfish advantage, trained themselves out of - a rude, and debilitating issue for amd - who IMO has greatly encouraged that suicidal behavior )

    ...that the 365mm die is over 43% larger than the 300mm die.

    Now there's just a single example of what needs to happen much more often, so that we can be well informed persons instead of lying brainwashed monkeys.

    I certainly do not mind a big 'ol fanboy, in fact that's great, but let's bring it up to a level where a fan can be a self respecting and respected addition, not in need of constant lies, and endless unethical misconduct, right ?

    A fanboy should easily support his view with the truth and not be in need of anything other, and as I fairly point out, an honorable fanboy won't be hellbent on squeezing every last dollar from their favorite producer while at the same time preaching corporate profitability "lessons" or sideway gloatings of the same, in direct opposition to their stated personal savings conduct goal and oft lofted talking point rhetoric.
    Reply

Log in

Don't have an account? Sign up now